Practice

Dionne Schulze offers legal advice and representation in a variety of areas, especially in relation to Aboriginal Peoples. Its lawyers are highly experienced and the founding partners rank among the best Aboriginal law specialists in the country, according to the annual “Best Lawyers in Canada” publication.

Aboriginal rights

Our firm has a particular expertise dealing with consultation and accommodation of Aboriginal peoples with respect to projects on their territory, an expertise which includes the negotiation of the Impact and Benefit Agreements (IBAs) which may result.

We also specialize in both the negotiation and litigation of land claims and treaty issues, including specific claims.

We have often represented First Nations individuals accused of violating provincial and federal laws with respect to hunting, fishing, trapping and harvesting.

We have also represented former pupils of residential schools in their efforts to obtain monetary compensation in accordance with the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, as well as other victims of abuse in institutional settings.

Constitutional law, rights, and freedoms

We have substantial experience in litigating constitutional issues, particularly the separation of powers between the federal and provincial governments and equality rights under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Environmental law

We represent and advise our clients on environmental assessments under federal and provincial laws, as well as under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement, both with respect to their participation and with respect to the legality of the decision making.

Business, corporate and tax law

We routinely deal with tax matters affecting Aboriginal people, including commercial transactions. We are also involved in the negotiation and drafting of commercial agreements, such as joint venture, sales agreement, licenses and limited partnerships. We advise on corporate matters for profit and not-for-profit entities, such as incorporations, filings, resolutions, meetings and rights and responsibilities of directors.

Governance, by-laws and policy

We regularly advise First Nations who wish to adopt policies or by-laws for better governance. In particular, we work on resolutions, by-laws, codes of ethics, membership codes and election codes.

Civil litigation / Administrative law / Judicial review

Our civil law practice includes drafting legal opinions and representation before the courts. Our litigation practice also includes judicial review of government action, particularly with respect to government decisions which affect our aboriginal clients. Members of our firm have appeared before all levels of court, both federal and provincial, including the Supreme Court of Canada.

Property and housing law

We have an expertise in the special rules which apply to land held on reserve under the Indian Act. In particular, we advise our clients on the rights of non-aboriginals to use reserve lands, in both commercial and residential settings. We also offer advice on housing and home ownership policies. We recently contributed to clarifying the situation of Band Councils with respect to federal loans for housing and the related ministerial guarantees.

Employment law and the protection of privacy

We help our clients draft and apply policies on employment and the protection of personal information. We also advise them on employee dismissal and human rights complaints.

Class actions

We have successfully filed and settled class actions. We have been involved in class actions on issues including the legality of provincial tax and the liability of institutions for sexual abuse.

Intellectual property and traditional knowledge

We provide advice on and participate in the drafting of agreements and policies on the protection of intellectual property, of traditional knowledge, and of information collected from Aboriginal communities.

International law

Our firm follows international developments in Aboriginal and human rights, and members of our firm have appeared before the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.

Quebec and federal law

Our lawyers, who are trained both in the civil law of Quebec and the common law, are all called to the Bar of Québec. We are fully bilingual in French and English.

The firm’s commitment to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’ calls for action

In 2015, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) released its report on the history of residential schools and their impact on Aboriginal communities across Canada.

The TRC also launched 94 Calls to Action to the Canadian society as a whole to transform its relationship with Aboriginal peoples and continue the work of healing and reconciliation initiated by the TRC.

Among these Calls to Action, several are aimed at the legal community, in particular:

27. We call upon the Federation of Law Societies of Canada to ensure that lawyers receive appropriate cultural competency training, which includes the history and legacy of residential schools, the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Treaties and Aboriginal rights, Indigenous law, and Aboriginal-Crown relations. This will require skills-based training in intercultural competency, conflict resolution, human rights, and anti-racism.

28. We call upon law schools in Canada to require all law students to take a course in Aboriginal people and the law, which includes the history and legacy of residential schools, the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Treaties and Aboriginal rights, Indigenous law, and Aboriginal–Crown relations. This will require skills-based training in intercultural competency, conflict resolution, human rights, and antiracism.

Our firm takes these Calls to Action to heart and implements them through various activities.

For example, our lawyers regularly give lectures on issues pertaining to Aboriginal Peoples’ rights (see below), including to audiences composed of lawyers and law students. They have also published papers on reconciliation and Aboriginal Peoples’ rights, in Canada and abroad.

Many of our lawyers also represented residential school survivors as part of the Independent Assessment Process.

Not only are our lawyers particularly aware of the legacy of residential schools, but they also understand and measure the magnitude of the personal and intergenerational impacts that residential schools have had on survivors’ lives. They have had the privilege of earning the trust of several survivors to represent them and to accompany them throughout this important and significant process. While respecting the confidentiality that protects our clients, our lawyers are committed to seeing that the judicial actors and the general public recognize the legacy of the residential schools.

Lawyers in our firm are also committed to the rights of Aboriginal people outside of the firm. For example, Marie-Eve Dumont sits on the board of directors of Projets Autochtones du Québec (Aboriginal Projects of Quebec) and Jameela Jeeroburkhan acts as a supervising-lawyer for the McGill Legal Clinic at the Native Friendship Centre of Montreal.

We believe that Canadian law societies and law schools across Canada should take concrete measures to implement the TRC’s recommendations. To this end, members of the firm offer their time and expertise to the Barreau du Québec in any effort to respond positively to Call to Action #27 and other recommendations of the TRC. Ms. Jeeroburkhan also chairs a working group within the Canadian Bar Association developing ongoing responses to Calls to Action within this organization. In August 2016, the CBA adopted a resolution to take internal action in support of the TRC’s Calls to Action.

Finally, we are always happy to welcome Aboriginal students, articling students or lawyers in our team to assist in the training of legal experts from Aboriginal communities, as well as to engage Aboriginal youth interested in a legal career.

Conferences

  • David Schulze, “Human Rights Complaints: Aboriginal Inequality and Canadian Law”, Canadian Aboriginal Law 2013 symposium, Pacific Business and Law Institute, Ottawa, 2013.

  • David Schulze, “The McIvor Decision and Its Impact”, Canadian Aboriginal Law 2009 symposium, Pacific Business and Law Institute, Ottawa, 2009.

  • Paul Dionne, “Une politique de consultation des peuples autochtones pour le Québec ?”, Insight Conference, Montreal, 2006.

  • Paul Dionne, “L’obligation extra-statutaire de consultation et d’accommodement des peuples autochtones dans le cadre des projets de développement des ressources naturelles”, Insight Conference, Quebec, 2004.

  • Elisabeth Patterson, “The Protection of Indigenous Medical Knowledge”, McGill University, 2016.

  • Elisabeth Patterson, “Does the duty to accommodate reach its objectives: a comparative perspective in international and Canadian law”, Symposium at the Law department of the University of Montreal, 2015.

  • Jameela Jeeroburkhan, “The Truth and Reconciliation’s Calls to Action: Taking Action towards Reconciliation”, Forum of public sector jurists, Canadian Bar Association, 2016.

  • Jameela Jeeroburkhan, “La pratique du droit autochtone au Québec”, Workshop of the Canadian Muslim Lawyers’ Association, 2016.

  • Marie-Eve Dumont, “Les pensionnats indiens et les mécanismes d’indemnisation des survivants”, in the context of the Aboriginal Law class, University of Quebec in Montreal, 2016.

  • Marie-Eve Dumont, “Aptitudes interculturelles à l’égard d’une clientèle autochtone”, in the context of the Aboriginal Law class, University of Quebec in Montreal, 2017.

  • Marie-Eve Dumont et Nicholas Dodd, “Formation interculturelle – Aptitudes interculturelles à l’égard d’une clientèle autochtone”, McGill University, 2015.

  • Charlotte Chicoine-Wilson, “La reconnaissance constitutionnelle de la justice autochtone en Colombie”, Summer school program – Pluralisme juridique et peuples autochtones (Legal Pluralism and Aboriginal Peoples), University of Laval, 2016.

  • Charlotte Chicoine-Wilson, “La relation entre les systèmes de résolution de conflit étatique et autochtone en Colombie”, in the context of the Criminal Law class, University of Ottawa, 2016.

Pratique

Le cabinet Dionne Schulze offre des conseils juridiques et de la représentation en matière de litige et de négociation dans divers domaines, et principalement en droit applicable aux peuples autochtones. Le cabinet est composé d’avocats d’expérience. Ses avocats fondateurs figurent parmi les meilleurs en droit des peuples autochtones au Canada, selon la référence « Best Lawyers in Canada ».

Droits des autochtones

Le cabinet a acquis une expertise importante en matière de consultation et d’accommodement des peuples autochtones en ce qui concerne les projets sur leurs territoires et aussi dans la négociation d’ententes sur les répercussions et avantages (ERA).

Notre équipe est spécialisée en revendications de droits ancestraux et issus de traité en contexte de négociation et de litige, ainsi qu’en revendications particulières. De plus, nous avons souvent représenté des membres des Premières Nations accusés d’infractions aux lois provinciales et fédérales concernant la chasse, la pêche, le piégeage et la cueillette.

Nous représentons également d’anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens dans leurs démarches pour obtenir des compensations pécuniaires au terme de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, ainsi que d’autres victimes d’abus institutionnels.

Droit constitutionnel et droits et libertés

Nous possédons une expérience importante en matière de litige constitutionnel, particulièrement dans le domaine du partage des compétences entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces ainsi que du droit à l’égalité en vertu de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Droit de l’environnement

Nous représentons et conseillons nos clients dans le cadre des différents processus d’évaluation environnementale fédéraux, provinciaux ou découlant de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois, tant en ce qui concerne leur participation que la légalité des décisions qui en découlent.

Droit commercial, droit des sociétés et droit fiscal

Nous sommes régulièrement saisis de dossiers fiscaux touchant, notamment, l’application des exemptions fiscales aux autochtones. Nous sommes aussi impliqués dans la négociation et la rédaction d’ententes de nature commerciale, telles que de partenariat, de vente, de licence et de société en commandite. Nous conseillons aussi des entités à but lucratif et à but non lucratif relativement à leur constitution, à leurs résolutions, aux règles régissant les assemblées et aux droits et responsabilités des administrateurs.

Gouvernance, réglementation et politiques

Nous conseillons régulièrement des Premières Nations qui souhaitent adopter des politiques et des règlements en vue d’une meilleure gouvernance. Nous élaborons notamment pour eux des résolutions, des règlements administratifs, des codes d’éthique, des codes de citoyenneté et des codes électoraux.

Litige civil / Droit administratif / Contrôle judiciaire

Notre pratique en litige civil comprend la rédaction d’opinions juridiques et la représentation devant les tribunaux dans des dossiers de responsabilité civile. Notre pratique en litige comprend aussi des dossiers de contrôle judiciaire, notamment à l’égard de décisions ministérielles et gouvernementales touchant les droits de nos clients autochtones. Les membres du cabinet ont plaidé devant toutes les instances, autant fédérales que provinciales, y compris la Cour suprême du Canada.

Droit foncier et du logement

Nous sommes spécialisés dans l’application des règles foncières propres aux réserves autochtones. Nous conseillons nos clients notamment quant aux intérêts fonciers non autochtones sur réserve, tant au niveau commercial que résidentiel. Nous les conseillons aussi dans le cadre de la rédaction et de l’adoption de politiques de logement et d’accès à la propriété. Nous avons contribué récemment à clarifier la situation des Conseils de bande dans le cadre de l’application des politiques fédérales en matière d’emprunts aux fins d’habitation assortis de garanties ministérielles.

Droit de l’emploi et de la vie privée

Nous aidons nos clients à rédiger et à appliquer des politiques d’emploi et de protection des renseignements personnels. Nous les conseillons aussi dans les dossiers de congédiement et de plaintes au niveau des droits de la personne.

Recours collectifs

Nous avons déposé et réglé avec succès des recours collectifs. Nous avons notamment été impliqués dans des recours touchant des domaines tels que la légalité de taxes provinciales et la responsabilité civile en matière d’abus sexuels.

Propriété intellectuelle et savoir traditionnel

Nous fournissons des conseils et rédigeons des ententes et politiques concernant la protection de la propriété intellectuelle, du savoir traditionnel et des données collectées auprès de communautés autochtones, notamment en matière de santé.

Droit international

Notre équipe suit les développements internationaux en matière de droit des autochtones et des droits de la personne, et des membres de notre bureau ont déjà agi devant la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme.

Droit québécois et fédéral

Nos avocats, qui sont de formation civiliste et de common law, sont tous membres du Barreau du Québec. Nous sommes parfaitement bilingues en français et en anglais.

L’engagement du cabinet envers les appels à l’action de la Commission vérité et réconciliation

En 2015, la Commission vérité et réconciliation (CVR) a publié son rapport sur l’histoire des pensionnats autochtones et les impacts de ces derniers sur les communautés autochtones à travers le Canada.

La CVR a aussi lancé 94 appels à l’action à l’ensemble de la société canadienne pour transformer ses rapports avec les peuples autochtones et poursuivre le travail de guérison et de réconciliation entamée par la CVR.

Parmi ces appels à l’action, plusieurs concernent le milieu juridique, notamment :

27. Nous demandons à la Fédération des ordres professionnels de juristes du Canada de veiller à ce que les avocats reçoivent une formation appropriée en matière de compétences culturelles, y compris en ce qui a trait à l’histoire et aux séquelles des pensionnats, à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, aux traités et aux droits des Autochtones, au droit autochtone de même qu’aux relations entre l’État et les Autochtones. À cet égard, il faudra, plus particulièrement, offrir une formation axée sur les compétences pour ce qui est de l’aptitude interculturelle, du règlement de différends, des droits de la personne et de la lutte contre le racisme.

28. Nous demandons aux écoles de droit du Canada d’exiger que tous leurs étudiants suivent un cours sur les peuples autochtones et le droit, y compris en ce qui a trait à l’histoire et aux séquelles des pensionnats, à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, aux traités et aux droits des Autochtones, au droit autochtone de même qu’aux relations entre l’État et les Autochtones. À cet égard, il faudra, plus particulièrement, offrir une formation axée sur les compétences pour ce qui est de l’aptitude interculturelle, du règlement de différends, des droits de la personne et de la lutte contre le racisme.

Notre cabinet prend à cœur ces appels à l’action et les met en œuvre à travers diverses activités.

Ainsi, les membres de notre cabinet présentent régulièrement des conférences abordant des questions relevant du droit des peuples autochtones (voir ci-dessous), notamment à des publics de juristes et d’étudiants en droit. Ils ont de plus publié des textes portant sur la réconciliation et les droits des peuples autochtones, au Canada et à l’étranger.

Plusieurs de nos avocats ont également représenté des survivants des pensionnats dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant. Non seulement nos avocats sont-ils particulièrement sensibilisés à l’héritage des pensionnats, mais, de plus, ils comprennent et mesurent l’ampleur des impacts personnels et intergénérationnels que les pensionnats ont eus dans la vie des survivants. Ils ont eu l’honneur de bénéficier de la confiance de plusieurs survivants afin de les représenter et de les accompagner tout au long d’un processus important et significatif. Nos avocats ont à cœur la reconnaissance par les acteurs judiciaires et le public en général des séquelles laissées par les pensionnats, dans le respect de la confidentialité qui protège nos clients.

Les avocats de notre cabinet s’impliquent également pour les droits des Autochtones à l’extérieur du cabinet. À titre d’exemple, Me Marie-Eve Dumont siège sur le conseil d’administration de l’organisme Projets Autochtones du Québec et Me Jameela Jeeroburkhan agit à titre d’avocate-superviseure de la Clinique juridique de l’Université McGill au Centre d’amitié autochtone de Montréal.

Nous croyons que les barreaux canadiens et les facultés de droit à travers le Canada devraient prendre de mesures concrètes pour mettre en pratique les recommandations de la CVR. À cette fin, les membres du cabinet offrent leur temps et leur expertise au Barreau du Québec pour tout effort afin de répondre positivement à l’appel à l’action 27 et aux autres recommandations de la CVR. Me Jeeroburkhan préside également sur un groupe de travail au sein de l’Association du barreau canadien qui répond aux appels à l’action au sein de cette organisation. En août 2016, l’ABC a adopté une résolution pour prendre des mesures à l’interne à l’appui des appels à l’action de la CVR.

Enfin, nous sommes toujours heureux d’accueillir étudiants, stagiaires ou avocats autochtones au sein de notre équipe afin de contribuer à la formation de juristes issus des communautés autochtones, ainsi que d’échanger avec de jeunes autochtones intéressés par une carrière en droit.

Conférences

  • David Schulze, « Human Rights Complaints: Aboriginal Inequality and Canadian Law », Colloque Canadian Aboriginal Law 2013, Pacific Business and Law Institute, Ottawa, 2013.

  • David Schulze, « The McIvor Decision and Its Impact », Colloque Canadian Aboriginal Law 2009, Pacific Business and Law Institute, Ottawa, 2009.

  • Paul Dionne, « Une politique de consultation des peuples autochtones pour le Québec ? », Conférence Insight, Montréal, 2006.

  • Paul Dionne, « L’obligation extra-statutaire de consultation et d’accommodement des peuples autochtones dans le cadre des projets de développement des ressources naturelles », Conférence Insight, Québec, 2004.

  • Elisabeth Patterson, « The Protection of Indigenous Medical Knowledge », Université McGill, 2016.

  • Elisabeth Patterson, « Does the duty to accommodate reach its objectives: a comparative perspective in international and Canadian law », Colloque à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Montréal, 2015.

  • Jameela Jeeroburkhan, « The Truth and Reconciliation’s Calls to Action: Taking Action towards Reconciliation », Forum des juristes du secteur public, Association du Barreau canadien, 2016.

  • Jameela Jeeroburkhan, « La pratique du droit autochtone au Québec », Atelier-causerie de l’Association canadienne des avocats musulmans, 2016.

  • Marie-Eve Dumont, « Les pensionnats indiens et les mécanismes d’indemnisation des survivants », dans le cadre du cours Droit des Autochtones, Université du Québec à Montréal, 2016.

  • Marie-Eve Dumont, « Aptitudes interculturelles à l’égard d’une clientèle autochtone », dans le cadre du cours Droit des Autochtones, Université du Québec à Montréal, 2017.

  • Marie-Eve Dumont et Nicholas Dodd, « Formation interculturelle – Aptitudes interculturelles à l’égard d’une clientèle autochtone », Université McGill, 2015.

  • Charlotte Chicoine-Wilson, « La reconnaissance constitutionnelle de la justice autochtone en Colombie », École d’été Pluralisme juridique et peuples autochtones, Université Laval, 2016.

  • Charlotte Chicoine-Wilson, « La relation entre les systèmes de résolution de conflit étatique et autochtone en Colombie », dans le cadre du cours Droit pénal, Université d’Ottawa, 2016.